The Caribbean is a region of the Americas that consists of the Caribbean Sea and its islands. The region is southeast of the  Gulf of Mexico and the North American mainland, east of Central America, and north of South America.

The region has more than 700 islands, islets, reefs and cays which are delineated by island arcs. The West Indies are formed by the Bahamas and Turks and Caicos Islands, which are considered to be part of the Caribbean.

Check out an interactive journey of the Great Barrier Reef here!